Skip to main content

The Trouble with Maggie Cole (Masterpiece)

Airs Sundays at 8 p.m. beginning Oct. 18 (6 Parts)

See what happens when idle gossip escalates out of control and starts to affect people’s lives. Set in a picturesque fishing village, the series centers on Maggie Cole, the self-appointed oracle of this close-knit community.

Full episodes of PBS programming will stream for free following each broadcast and be available for two weeks on all station-branded PBS platforms, including and the PBS Video App, available on iOS, Android, Roku, Apple TV, Amazon Fire TV, Samsung Smart TV and Chromecast. Following the two weeks, PBS station members can view episodes via Passport (contact your local PBS station for details).


Episode 1 (Sunday, Oct. 18 at 8p.m.):

Historian Maggie Cole is asked to an interview her coastal village, Thurlbury. Maggie throws a garden party where she plays the interview in full, revealing all the guarded secrets, indiscretions and gossip, changing life in Thurlbury forever.

Episode 2 (Sunday, Oct. 25 at 8 p.m.):

With the town still reeling from "Radio-gate," Maggie is desperate to make amends. Meanwhile, Neil and Kelly decide to embrace what was broadcast about them and go along with the unsubstantiated gossip as a way to explain their sudden windfall.

Episode 3 (Sunday, Nov. 1 at 8 p.m.):

Peter Cole is visibly jittery from public and press attention following Maggie’s interview. Author Marcus bonds with Jill and Maggie continues her mission to right all of her wrongs, with a tense visit to local hairdresser Kelly.

Episode 4 (Sunday, Nov. 8 at 8 p.m.):

As Maggie continues to seek amends with her neighbors, she makes a horrifying discovery in a confrontation with Roxanna. Gambling debts plague Alex and the community’s continued pressure on Peter threatens his job and family.

Episode 5 (Sunday, Nov. 15 at 8 p.m.) & Episode 6 (Sunday, Nov. 22 at 8 p.m.):

Descriptions forthcoming.